Why? Site Managers can control who can do what on a Community Center website by assigning rights to Groups and individual Users to Groups. This page describes what abilities the rights confer. See How to Configure Component or Links Group Security for more about applying these rights.
There are 5 rights that can be assigned to Groups in Community Center:
- View - Users can see and interact with items in this Component or Links Group, but not change them in any way.
- Add - Users can Add new items to this Component or Links Group, but can only Edit and Delete items that they have created themselves (that they Own in Community Center terms).
- Edit - Users can Add new items to this Component or Links Group, and can Edit all items, but they can only Delete items they own.
- Delete - Users can Add, Edit and Delete all items in this Component or Links Group.
- Change Security - Users can Add, Edit and Delete all items in this Component or Links Group, and can also modify security rights. Usually, this task should be reserved for Site Manager accounts except in extraordinary circumstances.
- No Access - Components will not appear on the page for Users assigned No Access, and any page visited in a Links Group assigned No Access will not be visible except for common navigation elements to allow the User to leave the page.
No Access is the pre-eminent right: If a User belongs to multiple groups assigned different rights, if any of those rights is No Access, that User will be assigned No Access.